Home

LONDON — The controversy over genetically modified crops has long focused on largely unsubstantiated fears that they are unsafe to eat.

But an extensive examination by The New York Times indicates that the debate has missed a more basic problem — genetic modification in the United States and Canada has not accelerated increases in crop yields or led to an overall reduction in the use of chemical pesticides.

Continue reading:  Doubts About the Promised Bounty of Genetically Modified Crops

14 thoughts on “Doubts About the Promised Bounty of Genetically Modified Crops

  1. My objection has never been in eating the crop, but in the farmer getting seed and growing their own crop. I was a child of farmers, and this would never have been something they would have done. Hugs

    • Could you expound upon that point, Scottie? GMO seeds are generally used on huge corporate monoculture operations, and on lesser farming operations which are vulnerable to pressure tactics from agribusinesses such as Monsanto. From my understanding, the small family-owned farms of yesteryear are largely gone, and those which remain have fewer discretionary choices.

  2. OK In my grandfathers farms this was not a problem. The seed the bought was from the( I don’t remember the real name, but it was like agway or some such ) and it did not come with restrictions. They bought it, they could plant it or let it rot, no one cared except the farm owner. My grand father got his seed in a huge truck as I remember, maybe I was wrong but that was how I remember it. My other grandfather got his seed in a truck loads of bags. Again no one seemed to be watching or keeping score. They bought the stuff they needed and they planted and then it came up and they harvested and sold it. Both grandfathers, then uncles and other farming family members had family farms. Not big factory farms, even if my Grandfather on my mothers side had one of the biggest and most productive farms in upper state NY. Now my adoptive mothers father’s farm was sold in the early 1970’s. The other grandfather’s ( It was my adoptive fathers second mothers husband ) lasted until he gave it to his son’s in the 1980’s. I have posted pictures of me at that time and talked a bit about the abuse I took there in Canada. ( later my adoptive mother said she was not aware of my abuse at their hands even though I begged to come back home and even promised I wouldn’t say anything about the abuse, just let me come home… my adoptive father said no way )

    So my understand of this seed business is that the company selling the seed seems to retain ownership of all seed. Then they seem to have even more rights after that. Also there seems to be a question of the harm eating food gown from such seed may present.

    My point was only that I never seen this in my grandfathers farms, and I doubt it would have been accepted or tolerated. I also don’t know if eating foods from GMO stock is harmful or not. I simply know what my one grandfather would have done if some one had come to him and said ” here is the seed you may use, here is the way you can plant it, here is the rights you have and here is what you owe us” He would have chased them out of his farm before they could have gotten the sentence out.

    Sadly my best grandfather got out of farming in the early 1970’s. I lost track of the other side of the family after the abusive summer I spent when I was 12. Must have been about the end of the 1970’s.

    Hope this helps explain my comment. If not let me know and I will try to make it clearer. Best wishes and hugs

  3. Sheeple are dumb. In fact, in the universe there is probably no other species as dumb. Earth fact. Sheeple have to believe: it’s their programming. Take away their religions, or make them doubt the existence of some all-powerful imaginary sky wizard and immediately they fall into another faith, in this case, the Omniscient Scientist and His Great Inventions. Any creature with two brain cells, leaving one as a spare, should be aware by now that whatever the corporates claim, it’s the safest bet to say: “Liars!” The whole point of GMO’s was to destroy natural crops, reduce food production, increase the “need” for chemicals: fertilizers, herbicides and pesticides, and thereby increase the cost of food and increase profits. Also it makes food producers totally dependent upon the GMO and chemical supplier. Any studies that demonstrated the negative aspects of GMO’s were simply mocked, denied or, with the blatant collusion from “elected” government and its bureaucracies, carry on as if nothing had been said.

Leave a Reply

