Home

H-1B work visas are supposed to bring foreign workers to the U.S. to do specialized work for a few years when companies have trouble finding American workers to do those jobs. Tell that to Leo Perrero and Dena Moore, two former Disney employees who were replaced by H-1B workers—who they had to train to do their jobs. Perrero and Moore:

[…]

Let’s be clear: This is about Disney and other employers and about American policies, not about workers on temporary visas. You have to focus on the system that makes abuses possible, not on the individuals trying to get by within that system.

Continue reading:  Disney faces lawsuits for using H-1B visas to replace American workers

Commentary by The Secular Jurist:  This abuse of the U.S. visa program by unscrupulous businesses goes back several decades with which I have direct personal experience.  Back in the 1980s when the computer industry was booming, businesses were hiring foreign programmers (via H-1B) from countries like the U.K. and India not because they couldn’t find skilled Americans to do that job but because they could pay those workers less.  It was all about reducing wages, nothing more.  Once, I decided to quit a job after my employer told me to train my replacement.  I told him to go eff himself.  Regardless, I still enjoyed great camaraderie and friendship with my Brit and Indian coworkers.  My problem was with my boss, not with them.

2 thoughts on “Disney faces lawsuits for using H-1B visas to replace American workers

Leave a Reply

