Home

Must read…

ashiftinconsciousness

This is a continuation of an unfinished essay that was published accidentally. I was in the process of stating my feelings about the hordes of tourists that descend daily upon Times Square while trying to enjoy breakfast one morning.

1) {continued} As I was sipping my coffee I wondered how many of these people had visited the statue of liberty during their NYC trip. And I wondered if those who had visited it had bothered to read the inscription engraved inside. Then, I wondered what the people who had visited the statue and read the inscription had thought about the “huddled masses” who are “tired” and “poor” and braving the elements in their homes of discarded boxes and newspaper hundreds of yards away from the biggest tourist destination in New York.

I believe that this disconnect in the minds of so many people is one of the most important reasons…

View original post 1,180 more words

Leave a Reply

